Some people say it is the government responsibility to transport children to school. Others believe parents should transport their children to school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past, children often went to school by themselves and generally parents do not need to worry about their safety, as their school was close to their houses and there was not much traffic on the road. However, it is a completely different picture in today’s world. Therefore, children need to be transported to and from school in order to decrease risks. Some people argue governments should shoulder the responsibility, since they impose taxes on citizens. Thus, they could allocate part of the revenue to design school buses, employ professional drivers, which is beneficial to guarantee young students’ safety and this is also a good way to conserve energy and reduce fumes from private cars, which are a kind of common vehicles adults prefer to use. In fact, if governments can transport children, they also relieve parents’ pressure from taking care of them so that they could pay more attention to their work and make more contributions to the community and society where they live. Others, however, are in favour that it is parents who should accompany their own children to and from school. The underlying reason is obvious and easy to understand: taking care of children is mainly parents’ responsibility rather than governments’; and there are more important matters for authorities to perform, improving health care and building infrastructure, for example. However, they ignore the next generation, investing them also being a crucial mission for governments, since they will be the main force to construct our country in the near future. In conclusion, I personally think transporting children should be the responsibility of the government, which is an effective approach to distribute resources and promise children ’s safety to the largest extent.