Puffery in advertising has both advantages and disadvantages. Discuss both view and give your opinion

Since the sixteenth century, “ puffery ” - meaning “let the buyer beware'', has been used, acknowledged by many people and proved to be strikingly beneficial for salesmen in promoting their works. Nevertheless, some critics believed that this technique may have some profound drawbacks that can negatively impact both the sellers and the consumers. From my standpoint, I give credence to both statements about puffery. In advertising, puffery is a frequently used technique to raise perception of products and to generate ameliorated sales. Some companies, restaurants, brands,etc use these subjective opinions and exaggerations to promote their products and create competitive advantages for themselves; various kinds of general claims are made, with no specific information to prove their accuracy. For example, statements such as “ Our traditional Mille-feuille is the most loved '' tricked the passers into thinking that the owner’s baking skill is spectacular and the keeper won’t have to produce evidence or backed up numbers, since that is a general claim and it is impossible to prove the accuracy. As well, these statements are sometimes so exaggerated that most consumers will find it hysterically interesting. Hence, puffery is considered to also add the entertainment value into advertising, especially in television commercials. Nonetheless, there are a few strikingly significant drawbacks when it comes to using this technique in promoting. In essence, some individuals are afraid of puffery due to the fact that there are not many characteristics between acceptable puffery and illegal false advertising. Puffery is mostly used to add divertisment merits while deceitful promoting misled the consumers and creating unfair competition between companies. Secondly, objective divulgences such as “cheapest”, “safest” should be used terrifically carefully and backed up with believable proofs, as these declarations can directly affect their competitors and consumer rights organisations often run tests to compare products such as dishwashers or washing machines. Companies involved in insurance, finance,property, credit cards and other alternatives are also investigated by them and legal actions could be taken against the companies who go over the limit; they can also face lawsuits and in some situations, go bankrupt. All things considered, puffery has been used for many great things such as increased sales, adding entertainment values; however, false advertising sometimes disguised as puffery, leading to unfair competitions, misrepresentation and detached assertions, Therefore, consumers should carefully consider before making purchasing decisions as commercials have been widely spread recently