Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? What are the effects on society?

In several parts of the world, there is a lack of students choosing to study science in university and college. This situation can be explained by several potential reasons and it can pose a threat to society. The rate of students studying science in universities continuously decreases for several reasons. Firstly, science curriculums in universities contain conventional and traditional teaching methods such as forcing the young to memorise a number of facts and theories instead of teaching them how to think scientifically in order to impart knowledge to students effectively. That being the case, these methods can put them under pressure and create tedious and frustrated feelings among those who learning. Secondly, students after graduating high school can not have a comprehensive understanding of the advantages and potential careers that science brings. Therefore, they do not decide to opt for majors including such subjects for fear that science is complicated and does not offer career progression in their future. However, this situation may produce some adverse effects on society. With fewer students studying science in university, it is likely that there will be a short-term shortage of scientists in the future, which will result in a lack of scientific discoveries. Meanwhile, scientific achievements play a pivotal role in developing a nation's prosperity, as a result, fewer students learning science can negatively impact the development of a nation. This testament can be seen in developed countries, which have various scientific discoveries compared to three-fourths of the world. Moreover, an insufficiency of young people choosing science majors can lead to an economy which does not have a diversity of employees in distinct sectors. In the worst-case scenario, this inadequacy may cause an unhealthy economic environment which has serious limits and even standstill of other potential areas for a long time. In conclusion, the deficiency in students learning science -based degrees in universities happens for several causes and this issue has exerted a number of undesirable impacts on society in the long term.