Some people argue that school should no longer be necessary because children can obtain all the information that they need form the internet. They can learn and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Internet has been used as an educational tool due to its rapid development which allows schools and teachers to give lessons, homework and assignments online. Students can also surf on the internet for research and extra readings. However, schools are still irreplaceable by the Internet in terms of the weakness of the internet and the essential role of schools. Internet is undoubtedly a very powerful and useful tool to teach, but only depends on the way we use it. Firstly, students lack of teachers' guidance will lead to teenager internet addiction as many of them lack self-discipline and spend so much time on irrelevant websites. What's more, tons of information uploaded on the internet is not in a one-hundred percent accuracy, however, youngsters can not distinguish right and wrong without further explanation and prove. Therefore, to make good use of the internet, the teacher role is vitally important and must not be eliminated. School is a mini-society for the adolescents before entering the real world, where it is not only a place to gain knowledge, but a place to train their social skills such as communication, interpersonal and presentation skill. Furthermore, apart from family, students can build their values and attitude through teachers and classmates who could only experience it but not by words and images. In such advantages, the internet is clearly not able to provide emotional and soft skills only by written information. To conclude, the internet is absolutely a very helpful assistant when students want to obtain more information and knowledge outside classes, but, at the sometimes, there are more skills and experience they could earn from schools and peers which is not able to replace by electronic parts.