Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern life, the creation of computers has tremendously shifted human's life, which is commonly perceived as the most outstanding scientific breakthrough over history. From my perspective, even though computers have an enormous impact on humankind, other scientific innovations should not be disregarded. On the one hand, there is no doubt that computer science has successfully digitalised numerous daily practices, offering organisations and individuals higher sustainability and productivity. The digitalisation process has been taking place in all domains including business, education or entertainment. An illustration is that not only have computers transformed a handful of paperwork to digital procedures in business operations but also facilitated the development of e-learning, working online or online recreational sources, which has now overshadowed traditional ways in terms of popularity. Therefore, it is computers that have significantly transformed human's living habits to a higher standard. On the other hand, despite its undeniable contribution to society, computer science cannot outbalance the importance of other inventions over the last centuries. For instance, without the generation of electricity, hardly can a computer function or even come into existence. Computers, hence, were undoubtedly invented on the foundation of many other previous innovations. Furthermore, other essential breakthroughs to mankind are those made in medical fields, which have saved millions of lives. Without these newly-invented medicines and treatment methods, even simple diseases such as measles remained fatal and human society would not have advanced to its current level of civilisation. In the light of the facts highlighted above, it is reasonable to conclude that all inventions play an integral role in social development. Therefore, it is highly recommended that they should be treated equally for their interrelationships with each other and valuable contributions to society.