In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

With the advancement of technology, the death rate is decreasing and more individuals are staying healthy even in older age hence increasing old people in society. Some believe that it has a positive impact while others are saying the opposite to it. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why it has more advantages than disadvantages. The first major benefit of having the older person at home is the responsibility. While youngsters are out for their work, grandparents would be able to look after the children. The working generation can work without bothering about their kids and their activity classes. For example, nowadays kids have to attend multiple classes like Zumba, swimming other than school. Grandparents can help them with pick-up and drop-off facilities in the absence of their parents. Another reason is that they provide security and this keeps robbers away by knowing that someone is at home. Hence the presence of aged generation provides a great benefit to society. On the other hand, elders are putting pressure on their elderly care especially when they fall sick and their son or daughter is working overseas. For example, the father of my best friend is living alone in his house because his son is working abroad. Although he is sending sufficient funds for his survival he needs to hire a nurse which is not easily available every time. The rising population of this generation is also resulting in fewer working employes and a more retired generation. Because employers have openings for the fresh minds rather than used ones. In conclusion, Although there are some negative points of having a growing population of old people like elderly care and less number of the working population. Availability of grandparents help in many ways like child care and home safety. Therefore advantages outweigh the disadvantages of aged people in the society.