Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial, perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

A common belief is that children of today’s society are facing huge academic pressures. Their competition is not with the children sitting next to them or in the next class. It is at national and international levels. Parents have high expectations for their child. They want them to excel in every field. Every parent wants their child to go to the best school of their city. These days, the school bag is heavier than the student himself. Moreover, considering the standards of education and competition today, after the school, they have to go to private coaching too. Thus they are left with no time to relax or engage in enjoyable outdoor activities. Then comes the social and commercial pressures on children today. The situation becomes perilous when children want to adopt the global culture despite the fact that their parents want them to stay rooted in their own culture. This in turn leads the children to rebel against the rules laid down by their respective family. In addition to this the commercial pressures have a major impact on the minds of today’s children. It stresses them out when they cannot compete with their peers in terms of material possessions. For example, a child will undoubtedly want a mobile phone that is as good or even better than that of his friend. To sum up, we cannot deny that today’s children are facing more pressures from academic, social and commercial perspectives. However, to avoid the same, Parents should have realistic expectations from their child. And most importantly they should spend adequate time with their children. The greatest onus is on the schools and teachers. They should not teach to win at all cost. They should in fact make a student learn how to win with modesty and lose with grace. Both parents and schools should learn and allow children to bloom by bringing out their hidden talent. It in turn will make a child grow physically and psychologically.