The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In the world of technology, where everything is replaced by technological advancements, many people who use social platforms are changing face-to-face contact. While the phenomenon may bring about some drawbacks, I still consider that they are eclipsed by its benefits. This essay will present the reasons for my point of view. On the one hand, the most positive effect of calling online is that the media has pushed the language and geographical barriers. To be more specific, people can interact with other individuals online more than ever before, like connecting to others 24/7. For instance, Facebook and Twitter, which are two of the most popular social media platforms that over 4 billion human beings are using right now can tie them up together with some click on the computer or on the phone. Another factor is that the Internet can sometimes be faster at getting information about news and drama faster than interviewers sending their lives to the television station. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that this trend will bring more negative features. One of the main issues with the overuse of social platforms is reducing the quality of interpersonal communication. In detail, when human beings become addicted to social network sites, they pay less attention to their loved ones. As a result, the relationship between them became less related to each other. Another downside is that it will make the users' speaking and writing worse. Many youngsters nowadays still have a habit of using slang words, shortening the language to be able to chat faster and funnier, which makes them forget the original words. In conclusion, weighing up both sides of the argument, I strongly think that the disadvantages of using social media rather than face-to-face significantly outweigh its advantages. Therefore, people should stay away from these media and talk more to people in real life to strengthen relationships with their friends and family.