In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

With the advancement of technology, the death rate is decreasing and more people are staying healthy even in older age hence increased elders in society. Some believe that it has positive impact while others are saying opposite to it. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why it has more advantages than disadvantages. The First major benefit of having older person at home is the responsibility. While youngsters are out for their work, grandparents would be able to look after the children. Working generation can work without bothering about their kids and their activity classes. For example, nowadays kids have to attend multiple classes like zumba, swimming other than school. Grandparents can help them with pick-up and drop-off facility in the absence of their parents. Another reason is that they provide the security and this keeps robbers away by knowing that someone is at home. Hence presence of the elders provides a great benefit to the society. On the other hand, aged individuals are putting pressure for their elderly care specially when they fall sick and their son or daughter is working overseas. For example, the father of my best friend is living alone because his son is working abroad. Although, he is sending sufficient funds for his survival he need to hire a nurse which is not easily available every time. Rising population of this generation is also resulting into less working employes and more retired gentlemen. Because employers have openings for fresh minds as comparison to used ones. In conclusion, Although there are some negative points of having growing population of the aged people like eldery elder care and less number of the working population. Having grandparents in society helps in many ways like child care and house safety. Therefore advantages outweigh the disadvantages of aged people in the society.