Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is important to consider that hard work should be rewarded. Although some people believe that prizes should only be reserved for the best academic achievers, others prefer that this should be presented to students demonstrating the greatest growth. In this essay, I will discuss both views and support my opinion with relevant examples and explanations. Focusing on awarding pupils with great improvements, might instil a sense of encouragement for them. This is because while the act of getting awarded may boost their confidence, it may also elicit respect from peers and parents. For example, a school kid who is weak in Mathematics would dream to get facilitated at the hand's teacher in front of his parents and peers. Furthermore, the sense of achievement may also play a vital role in reducing stress and anxiety regarding studies for the same. As a result, this may allow them to accomplish unthinkable targets in future. Turning to award high scorers, this might prepare them for future life. The reason for this is that scholars who are awarded for their high scores would maintain high self-value and may feel that their skill and hard work is respected. For instance, students with such accolades would hold a better opportunity to secure a high paying job or a PhD scholarship. However, if students are not afforded these recognitions, they might lose the opportunity to progress towards their goals. In conclusion, whereas awarding academic toppers may support them to claim a better future, it can be outweighed against the academic development of the ones who display improvements in studies. It seems to me that those who make progress in academic performance should get rewards.