Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve our mind health, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest our mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a widely-held belief that allocating leisure time to activities like reading and doing word puzzles is necessary for improving mental health. However, some people believe that rest time should be dedicated to relax the mind. Both views will be discussed in this essay and reach a concluding view. On the one hand, the proponents of the idea of using spare time to help the mental health believe that due to people ’s busy schedule along the day, there is no time to improve the mental stability during the work time. Thus, people should select recreations that develop their minds in their free time. For instance, many people pick reading or doing word puzzles as a pastime to maintain their mental health and add to their knowledge even in their spare time. Moreover, devoting the free time to foster the mind health by doing productive activities puts people in a good mood following the full use of their time to improve their knowledge which may lead to an increase in their self-confidence. On the other hand, those who oppose the notion are of the opinion that provided people allot their leisure time to activities which are only for pleasure, alleviating their stress would be the substantial result which is vital for resting and restoring the exhausted energy. Examples can be seen in people who spend their free time to do yoga or exercising that perform better at their tasks subsequently. In addition, those who support having fun activities in the free time claim that these activities have positive influence on people ’s temper. It means that those who use their spare time to rest their minds are generally happier people than those who do not. To conclude, it seems logical to allocate the free time to do leisure activities in order to restore the consumed energy and live happier. Nevertheless, some people still think that improving mind health in the free time may cause improved knowledge and self-confidence.