Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

Over the last few decades, the number of working hours has been increasing considerably. This is mainly because of social pressures and economic recession which resulted in both physical and mental health deterioration. The primary reason that prolongs the duration of work is an expectation from society that pressures individuals in education and work. The young generation has to spend numerous hours chasing their desired goals just to meet the social standard. Take Thailand as an example, many students are forced to study in medical schools, which requires enormous efforts to get in, because a doctor is a highly-respected career in Thailand. Poor economic condition is another reason why people must work longer. In other words, while the cost of living is immensely rising, people ’s wages are getting lower and lower. In order to afford fundamental requirements of living, such as food, clothes, and residences, people need a larger amount of money. Therefore, they have to work overtime to get paid. Prolonged working cause a number of health issues related to sedentary life. When people sit in front of their computers for a long time, it can cause them back pain and obesity. Additionally, people with obesity are vulnerable to many fatal illnesses in particular diabetes, high blood pressure and heart diseases. In addition, working too much contributes to stress which can lead to depression and mental disorders. This is evident according to the British Broadcasting Corporation pointing out that more Japanese committed suicide as a result of depression from work. In conclusion, the majority of people around the world spend more time working owing to pressure from society and bad economic situation. Consequently, this phenomenon brings about negative health impacts.