Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. discuss both views and give your opinion. give reason for your answer an include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A group of individuals hold the view that studying the past is waste of time, and not beneficial to deal with problems, whereas others believe it gives us depth insight into present situations. I strongly agree with the latter opinion, and I will justify my support in this regard. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that studying the past could broaden our horizons about past events and individuals can learn about the situations which had happened in the past. As they said “ history repeats itself”, so governments should have good grips on this matter, and the policies ancient governments implement to flourish. For example, before making any critical decisions authorities can refer to history books and find similar situations in the past so they can find out the consequences of that decision due to considering their pros and cons. On the other hand, another group of people claim that history has nothing to tell us and we cannot implement it in our present situations. They insist that the situation of today's world is completely different from the past and it is unrealistic to consider it for our decisions. However, I do not find this argument convincing because like the time we learn about our mistakes we can learn about ancient people’s mistakes too, and history books help us in this regard. To conclude, in my view history is like a treasure which guides the public to a wider future and we can always learn about the past stories to avoid further mistakes.