The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Obesity in western countries are raised in the recent decades. Overweight children may contribute to serious health problems. In this essay, the reasons and outcomes will be discussed in terms of teenagers' lifestyles and food culture. First of all, in modern societies, fast food restaurants are all over the streets. Adults are fond of fast food, let alone their offspring. Besides, many youngsters nowadays are obsessed with computer games which lead to a sedentary lifestyle. The more junk food they consume, the less exercise they do, the more fat they gain. For instance, a child had junk food twice a day without doing any sports will obviously get overweighted than the others with plain meals and regular workout. Furthermore, talking about food, in most of the western countries, the method to cook food are usually frying and baking with sauce on high-carbon food such as fried potato chips and tomato sauce pasta. These ingredients contain with high calories, with the way they are cooked. These kinds of living styles and the food culture result in health problems. Researches indicated that more and more adolescents are suffering from heart diseases and physical constraints on the knees due to obesity which will gradually become a burden to the healthcare system in the near future. To conclude, obesity in children is a very critical issue that has to be solved by looking at the negative outcomes it may cause. Although it is hard to reform the historical food culture, parents and government can start with changing their lifestyle instead.