Some people think that excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenagers’ literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the world have argued that an increase in the usage of gadgets such as mobile phones would significantly impact the linguistic and intellectual capabilities of the younger generation. This essay completely agrees with the statement. In my opinion, features such as auto spell check and pre-populated phrases had eased the way of communication. This essay will argue my views in detail with relevant examples. Firstly, the feature called auto spell check is instantly available in modern gadgets. This is to say that teenagers are accustomed to text messages and it is no longer a need to remember the spelling of any words. Even though, they type it incorrectly, auto spell detectors correct the spelling of those vocabularies. In addition, people had been used to recognisable voice recording systems that are available in smart mobiles which is allowing to record or type any information automatically. For instance, it has been reported that 80% of classroom sessions in schools are incorporated with computers which have lowered the writing skills among students. Secondly, people have been using pre-populated phrases on gadgets to write any content. It means to say that it has further reduced the effort of constructing sentences with a proper grammar structure. Furthermore, whenever we type a message using electronic devices, it will not allow us to involve with the content, instead, it will focus only on verbatim information which has a significant impact on reading comprehension. For example, teachers had evidence that these days students are not good in communication skills when compared to the past due to excessive use of phones. To conclude, although mobile devices had revolutionized the way we communicate, in my opinion, it has lowered the literacy skills among young people due to the advent of features such as spell check and readymade phrases that are built-in such devices.