Some people think that in this modern world, getting old is entirely bad. However, other people believe that the life of old people is much better now than it was in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Getting old is a natural stage for all human beings. Some people will see it as a bad thing along with physical restraint and change of appearance. Whereas, the other argued that the elderly in the modern generation can have a better life quality. In the following essay, both sides of view will be examined and given by my personal opinion on this matter. First of all, many mid-aged adults believe that ageing will bring them burdens in terms of health conditions and earning capacity. Many elderly are suffering from different diseases, for example, knee pain and organ failure, which might lead to a more serious condition. Furthermore, the elderly aged above 65 needs to retire according to the law. Employers are unlikely to hire this group of people because they have to pay more for medical benefits and insurance while the salary rate is sometimes higher, compared with the youths. However, living in this generation, although the abovementioned circumstances still exist, the social supports by the government and organisations are more comprehensive. Hospitals and healthcare systems are developed to handle the growing population of old people. For example, care centres are designed to serve underprivileged elderly and elderly who lives alone. Moreover, there are many local amenities provided by non-profit organisations, such as local centres, where they will regularly host leisure and educational events, for instance, teaching them how to use smartphones. Generally speaking, despite the change of body conditions can not be avoided when you get older, benefits and welfares from the modern society are doing good to maintain certain life qualities of the elderly. Therefore, the elderly in this era are living much better than in the past.