Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is universally accepted that in light of the proliferation of online information channels, convention newspapers have been on the wane, and considered no longer necessary. Although online news is indeed superior to printed version in many facets, I believe that printed papers would never be replaced completely. It is understandable why some people advocate eschewing paper publications in favor of their digital versions. The key rationale behind this development is that reading news online is infinitely speedier. Instead of purchasing papers at a newsstand, people can now access news updates immediately via Internet-connected mobile devices. Another justification is that online news is virtually free of charge. Most e-papers do not charge readers, which discourages many people from buying printed materials. Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits of internet-based newspapers, I am of the opinion that there are several compelling reasons as to why printed news cannot be dispensed with. Firstly, some people prefer traditional newspapers. For example, the elderly, who are not used to reading news on a digital screen due to their poor vision, often gravitate towards printed publications. Furthermore, the disappearance of printed news may have a far-reaching effect on a host of industries. For instance, the declining demand for paper news may force publishers and logging companies to downsize, which could trigger mass unemployment. In conclusion, despite undeniable benefits of online newspapers, I am convinced that conventional news still has an important role to play in modern society.