Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, it is becoming increasingly common for people to provide their personal details online. From my perspective, although it gives people more conviences, it should be seen as a negative development as the risk of cyber-crimes is considerablely dangerous. On the one hand, uploading personal data online facilitates our daily tasks. In other words, user are effortlessly able to log into their social networks because all their passwords are stored on virtual platforms. This also benefits to those who change their passwords frequently and often forget them. Additionally, by associating personal details with exclusive accounts, consumers can purchase online products in less than a minute. This is clearly exemplified when customers shop on e-commerce platforms such as Amazon or Facebook. Because their identity information has already been synchronized, customers can skip the time-consuming data entry an transfer money immediately. Thus, storing information online save people's time. Nevertheless, posting personal data on the internet makes user potentially susceptible to criminal activities. The private information shared on the virtual world including names, address and telephone numbers can be exploited for illcit purposes such as financial fraud. This is evident according to the Bangkok Post reporting Change the form of the verb reported show examples that a middle-aged, a hacker, stole 2 million Baht from women by hacking her facebook account in 2018 in Thailand. Furthermore, phone numbers and address shown on social networks can lead to harassment and stalking. A number of surveys demonstrate that during the last five years the number of women harassed due to the data leak have immensely increased. In conclusion, in spite of relatively minor conveniences, registering personal data online is definitely a negative development considering the risk of online fraud and being threatened.