The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, one of the greatest threats towards children is overconsumption of food and obesity which can lead to other health problems. There are a wide range of reasons behind this matter such as technology, fast food, modern life regulations etc. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and effects of this matter thoroughly. To begin with, the main factor for this increasing rate is unhealthy lifestyle. More and more, parents are becoming negligent of the quality of kid’s meals, and it is due to the fast pace of modern lives. They are preoccupied with their businesses and do not have much time for cooking something nutrients which is time-consuming. Additionally, buildings are like concrete cages, and kids have no place to run and burn calories. Thus, their only hobbies are online games or chatting with their friends. Needless to say, all of them are indoor activities without the slightest move. Moving on to the effects of this situation, I should mention not only the physical ones, but also the psychological influence. First of all, overweight kids may develop cardiovascular disease and suffer from high blood pressure or diabetes in adulthood. In addition to this, obesity can damage their confidence owing to the fact that they may dislike their body shapes. Predictably, they may be bullied by their peers. To put it in a nutshell, the main culprits of this problem are parents who are oblivious to their children’s eating habits. They should prohibit eating junk food and enrol their juveniles on sports classes. When all is said and done, they can prevent this brand-new phenomenon and guarantee their kids’ well-being.