Do you think that parents should be punished if their 5-year-old child commits a crime? From what age should children be held responsible for their own behaviors?

For the time being, the age of children to take responsibility for their behaviours has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. I would contend that children who are 18 years old or above should be responsible for what they have done while those who are under that age should be controlled in an appropriate way instead of punishing their parents. Without a shadow of a doubt, a milestone at 18 years old is a suitable limit that children should be aware of the consequences they make. At an early young age, toddlers have inadequate cognitive development and a firm grasp of legislation they have to abide by. A period of 18 years old is one that they complete the school curriculum to realize the effects they make on the surroundings in every aspect such as morality and code of conduct. That is the reason why Vietnam and many other countries have chosen that age to mark the time a person has to be controlled legally in the rights and obligations. Hence, children should be held responsible for their own behaviours at the age of 18. Due to that appropriate age, children who are under 18 years old should be responsible for their cruel acts in some far-reaching ways apart from punishing their guardians. The administrations should invest their coffers in building an effective program for parents to impart valuable lessons on how to educate their toddlers, especially those who have committed a crime. In some cases when parents know the cruel acts their children make but intentionally cover that with the government, they have to be punished by financial fines or being put behind the bars. Undisputedly, parents should be assisted to have a useful method in controlling and shaping their toddlers’ characteristics with a view to make them become beneficial citizens to the society. To sum up, the government should put forward a suitable limitation in age for children to raise an awareness of the law in them while lending a hand for guardians to educate their toddlers in an optimal way.