Nowadays longer distances are travelled by people to work and study on a daily basis. Some considered it to be a negative development. While others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, a societal issue related to commuting distance has been widely discussed among people the world over. Some argue that it brings negative effects while others disagree. As far as urbanization, economy and health are concerned, I strongly hold that the advantages of longer travel distances far outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, It is undeniable that longer travel length brings some disadvantages. For instance, individuals have to spend more time commuting. It does harm to the efficiency. In addition, longer length means more expenditure on commute. In the present society, there are many individuals who still suffer from chronic poverty. They cannot afford the commute cost so that they are hard to get appropriate jobs. On the other hand, longer commute distance also has benefits to individuals and society. First of all, although the commute is extending, the cost would not increase too much because public traffic is developing too. Secondly, with the development of urbanization, the environment of the city centre is gradually deteriorating. According to a recent survey, four million people die each year from diseases linked to environmental problems. Therefore, many people migrate to the countryside at expense of extending the commute time to living in a healthy environment. For example, my friend Yu Qian resident in the city centre who was diagnosed with cancer. He supposed that the terrible environment was the cause of his disease. In conclusion, I suppose that longer travel distance has more advantages than disadvantages as long as resolving some problems such as traffic cost and commute time. Government should be well-advised to give priority to developing public traffic.