According to most projections, the world’s population will continue to rise, until it plateaus at 9 to 11 billion in the latter part of the 21st century. Without a doubt, population growth represents the largest problem facing humanity at present. Do you agree that this is the greatest issue faced by us today?

Due to most of the researches, many people began to hold the view that the global population will continue to go up until it remains stable at 9 to 11 billion in the latest part of the 21st century. In my idea, although overpopulation is one of humankind's greatest issues, there are other global crucial problems such as global warming and resource depletion that we are faced. First and foremost, it is undeniable that overpopulation will affect both humankind and its environment. The more people we have, the more housing and accommodation we have to provide for them. These housings will be provided by logging operations that will result in deforestation and loss of millions of specie's habitats. As a result, we will definitely lose our biodiversity and their profitable existence that would benefit both medical treatments and each countries economy by catering for tourist attractions. However, in my idea, global warming and resource depletion are as important as population growth but they are unfortunately underlying. These days governments are more and more dependent on their national unsustainable resources such as water, fossil fuels to generate electricity or use them for transportation. If we lose these valuable sources, there will be no way for humanity to survive. Moreover, global warming, which occurred as a result of ozone layer depletion causes climate change and glacier retreat which affects agricultural and industrial activities. Furthermore, according to the absence of this layer in some of the earth's areas, for,instance Australia, many people are more and more suffering from skin cancers rendered by ultraviolet light. To sum up, as I mentioned before, it is an obvious fact that population growth is a serious and big problem, but there are some other underlying issues that can have an adverse effect on humanities life unless they are taken into consideration.