Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

Understanding history has been viewed as a fundamental responsibility of one country’s citizens. However, recently, major youths have more interest in pop stars and idols rather than some notable historical persons. This article will analyze some possible reasons for this phenomenon and point out appropriate solutions. To begin with, there are various reasons causing this position. First of all, the outbreak of the entertainment industry is obviously the root of this problem. In other words, many media companies use celebrities’ images and lifestyles as marketing campaigns. However, they both inadvertently and deliberately draw great attention mostly from young people. Therefore adolescents tend to know more about international pop stars. Secondly, the test-based education system is a considerable factor leading to this situation. To be more specific, most students now learn by rote everything just to get the best score. After the test, there is nothing left in their mind. Above all, this is not an encouraging situation and people need to take action to stop that position. That leaves a question that what people can do to handle this problem. Firstly, the government should encourage moviemakers to integrate historical elements into their filming projects. To be detailed, they can telescope history into movies plots or attach historical persons with rising pop stars, who are at the peak of their career. Secondly, schools should mesmerize students into studying history by designing attractive lessons with presentations, plays and field trips. To abridge, both government and society should take action to bring the most successful solutions. In conclusion, idolism is now dominating in youngsters minds and history is ignored. Renovating teaching methods and integrating history into the entertainment industry are considering solutions to this problem.