The crime rate increasing nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime do you agree or disagree

Over the last few years, modern technology has become an integral part of people's lives. It is commonly believed that it significantly prevents and solves crimes in society. I partly agree with this point of view, as I believe that although it helps monitor people ’s activities, another type of crime emerges. First of all, there are a great number of CCTVs equipped at public places such as airports, traffic signals, ATMs, department stores, or even around the corners. This is to say, security cameras help in monitoring dubious individuals and suspicious activities day in and day out. This gives us more security as criminals are aware that they might get caught and eventually refrain from crimes, thus reducing the number of illegal activities. This is evident according to the Bangkok Post pointing out that criminal cases in Bangkok declined by 30 per cent after CCTVs are introduced. Nevertheless, the development of information and technology creates cyber crimes. In other words, when much information is shared in the virtual world, criminals can access data easily and exploit it for illicit purposes such as financial fraud. For example, people can be deceived by believing the advertisement in their emails or website, and transfer money to criminals. Moreover, technology can lead to harassment and stalking as people can contact each other online easily, and address information can be disclosed. For instance, in 2018, a famous teenager in Thailand was raped by a stalker because the staker found her address online and came to her house. In conclusion, technology does help prevent and solve some types of crimes in our daily lives as people are aware of the consequences, however, emerges cybercrime which comes in the form of financial deception, harassment and stalking.