Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A considerable number of people believe that most of the household waste is not being recycled; the government should come up with laws so that people follow them strictly. From my point of view, I would like to agree with the statement that there should be some set procedures and systems by which waste recycling can be promoted. On the one hand, the government can introduce a financial reward and penalty system for the citizens. In every local neighborhood there should be a waste deposit booth where people will be able to deposit the household waste and collect some penny in return. For example, ten cents for a plastic bottle, five cents for a kilo of organic waste etc. Similarly, the people who do not dump their household waste in the booth, will be imposed an increased amount of tax liability. These kinds of systems could motivate the citizens to recycle the waste in the designated waste collection zone. On the other hand, the authority should come up with a legal binding to lower the cost of raw materials for making new products. Household waste can be classified into two separate categories, organic and non-organic. Organic waste, for instance, food and vegetable waste can be used to produce fertilizer for soil. Similarly, non organic waste, like, plastic, broken glass and metal scrap could be reused to make new products. By establishing the rules of following the recycling practices will reduce the pressure on mining ore minerals and eventually lower the price of raw materials. In conclusion, we must admit that lots of waste is being generated in the household which must be recycled in an appropriate manner to get the best results out of it. Government is the only body who can force the citizens by implementing different methods of recycling.