Some people have the opinion that big shopping malls are expensive places as they offer high costs for the products which can be bought at much cheaper prices from local shops. On the other hand, some people think that such malls are absolutely the best places to visit for shopping. Discuss both the opinions and give your own opinion.

Certain audiences believe that a large shopping complex is an expensive area that offers overpriced items compared to the local store. I believe that both the statements are true to some extent because of numerous advantages on both the shopping venues. In this essay, I will address both the opinions with their advantages followed by the relevant examples. To begin with, local shops have a huge difference in the price of products than big stores. This is because the tax levied on the products is not applicable to an individual entity. Moreover, rent, advertisement, high maintenance and transportation cost etc. leads to higher prices of products sold in the shopping centres. iPhone, for example, purchased from a big store can be of a higher price, while the same phone bought from the local shop is inexpensive. Lower middle-class individuals may prefer this type of style due to certain limitations on their buying power. On the contrary, a big shopping plaza provides many varieties with better quality. Although it may be expensive, these shops can save a lot of time. For instance, individuals can get different variants of the iPhone with numerous accessories. Working professionals who are time-bound due to their 9 to 5 busy schedules may choose this type of shopping method. In addition, they can purchase everything from clothes to home appliances, all in one place with a plethora of varieties. To conclude, both shopping styles have their advantages and disadvantages. Rather, it depends on person to person, whether he is time-bound or money conscious. In my opinion, I would prefer malls over local shops because I am a working professional bound by time and can spend a reasonable amount of money.