In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Aged care centres are rapidly growing over the recent past. Thus, who is responsible financially for these elders is a debatable topic. Whereas, some say it lies with the family, while others say the government should take care of it. In my opinion, I think it remains with the family, however, given a situation where there is no one else then the government should intervene. This essay will elaborate on this aspect. To begin with, after all, they are our parents or relatives and we should be held liable for their well-being. For instance, elders have sacrificed their entire life for the betterment of their families, and when they are old, it is none other than their family who should be responsible. Moreover, it is unfair for a third party. Therefore, it is clear as to who should financially aid to the hospitality of the aged population. On the other hand, does everyone have a family behind him or her? There is number of old aged people who are orphans or do not have the support from their loved ones. For example, a number of children see their parents as trouble and abandon them at old age homes, after a certain point. Thus, in such scenarios, undoubtedly, the government has to play its part. Hence, in conclusion, it can be said that even though it is the members of the family who should be responsible for the funding most of the time, however, in various inevitable circumstances, the state should also give in a lending hand.