Some people think it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals believe that male and female children should go to different schools. However, the others reckon that there are positive aspects for both sex children to go to the same school. Although I partly agree with the former idea, the benefits from enrolling the mixed schools outweigh those from entering separate schools. According to some statistics, the college enrollment rate for separate schools is much higher than that for mixed schools. For example in Japan, almost fifty per cent of freshmen in the University of Tokyo, which is known as a top university in the country, came from same-sex high schools. Therefore, at least for people who believe that entering college is the goal of education, it can be said that boys and girls should go to a different school. However, in my opinion, indeed one of the aims of going to the school might be enrolling in a university, but long term benefits should be prioritized. In 2015, a famous American research group revealed a correlation between the marriage rate and the types of schools in terms of sex. The marriage ratio of people who graduated from the separated school was far less than those who came from the mixed school. They concluded that early interaction with the opposite sex plays a pivotal role in terms of the development of the country. In conclusion, in terms of entering a university, same-sex education might be a better option, but in terms of the prosperity of the nation, separate-sex education is much better and I strongly support the latter viewpoint.