In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in most areas of the world, teenagers aren’t really up to date with news, as they began to avoid buying newspapers and watching news on TV. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this growing problem and explore possible solutions. Firstly, I will discuss about the difficult language most newspapers use and secondly I will consider how the use of social networks may also be a reason for young people not following news. To begin with, it is clear that newspapers often use a difficult vocabulary. Consequently, this could prevent teens from fully understanding the meaning of the article they’re reading to, and may also result in young people considering worldwide news as boring. One solution to this growing problem could be the creation of more magazines, which could describe and explain these topics to young adults in a more interesting way. In this way, teenagers would be really encouraged to read articles as they would really understand what’s written, and they wouldn’t regard this activity as a waste of time. Another reason why teenagers don’t follow worldwide developments may also be that they spend too much time on social networks. These days, the use of social network and instant chatting services has really become the major form of entertainment for young adults. To avoid this, teens should be made aware of the existence of many online platforms, which include lots of videos and explanations about the current political and economic situation. Since the majority of this website are made for young adults, by using them, they could really solve the problem of the boringness of conventional journals. In conclusion, newspapers don’t really fit young people’s needs in terms of being simple and interesting. In my opinion, adults should teach them the importance of being up to date, even by using non-conventional ways of conveying news.