In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some countries, while many are of the opinion that a large proportion of the budget should be spent on new railway lines, others argue that money should be allocated to improve existing public transportation. In my opinion, nowadays more budget should be spent on establishing new intercity railway lines. On the one hand, public transportation has a reasonable price, and this allows the residents who need it the most, typically students and low-wage earners, to afford it. Therefore, allocating money to renovate existing public transport brings about more convenience to the aforementioned group. For example, renovated public transit work more efficiently and have less delay because of breakdown; therefore, it brings about more convenience compared to the older versions. Additionally, public transport systems usually cover the main parts of a city. As a result, most people who live and work inside a city can benefit from a refurbished public transport system and have easy access to different areas in the city. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why high-speed track should be built. First, thanks to technological advancements, there are more job opportunities for people outside of their home town. Consequently, the number of commuters who need swift intercity trains increase drastically. Newly- built trains allow people who work in other cities to save an enormous amount of time and spend more time with their family after work. As a result the quality of their life will be enhanced. Secondly, because of increasing advertisement, more tourist spots are discovered and travelling between cities for weekends is more common than it was in the past. It means that constructing new railway lines between cities is necessary to meet travel demand and also government can raise tax revenues from the various activities of tourists. In conclusion, although improving current public transit can be beneficial for the commuters inside a city, it seems that nowadays the number of intercity travelers for the purpose of work and leisure have increased;so, investing more money in this sector can have higher priority,and more people can benefit from it. Mahboubeh Saraee -AC