Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, the detrimental impacts of materials used for packaging lead to a debatable topic that whether manufactures and salesman are supposed to reduce the colossal packing in their products or the consumers should avoid purchasing such products in a hope of protecting the environment. I believe that both factories and buyers have the same role in this case. To begin with, it is believed that international manufacturers and factories with massive productions are responsible for a large proportion of environmental damages which have happened in the past few decades. Those factories overuse a variety of materials such as plastic and colourful papers to label their products in order to promote their brand and attract more consumers. For instance, in the toy industry, a simple Lego is wrapped by many plastics and every piece of it is put in a separate plastic bag which would be easily reduced. Thus, it would be fair to say, these massive producers are the ones who are burdened with huge responsibilities to replace their packing approach to reduce the excessive consumption of goods in use. On the other side, the public as shoppers possesses the freedom to choose their needs among many options provided in malls and supermarkets. Every individual is responsible for the potential factors that are leading to an environmental crisis. So, at the time of shopping, consumers should choose the products without extra packing. Not only this simple action may reduce excessive use of plastic and paper but also in a long run, would contribute to a gradual decrease in the sale rate of such manufactures with overpacking. This can be regarded as an indirect message to owners of those companies to take essential steps to eliminate extra packing. Thus, the purchaser plays an indispensable role in this term. To sum up, while it is believed that manufactures are burdened with the huge responsibility of eliminating extra use of boxing materials, others are of the opinion that it is consumers’ responsibility to avoid buying such products. In my opinion, both owners of businesses and individuals as buyers have a crucial role to play.