Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The influence of information technology on our lives is undeniable, especially in the aspects of household chores, hobbies and daily work tasks. This essay will point out my personal opinion about how the advantages of technology surpass its disadvantage. To begin with, there are various positive effects of information technology on human lives, especially household, leisure and working eras. Firstly, household appliances, namely pressure cookers, vacuum cleaners or voice-activated appliances, have upgraded people’s experience of doing chore which used to be laboured and time-consuming. In addition, applying technology into working activities can help workers find and proceed with information quicker. For example, with an app called Excel, people can effortlessly analyze and calculate data. Moreover, computer science inventions, such as theatre, video games, movies, are now common methods of entertaining which step-by-step become new leisures and replace the traditional ones. To abridge, the advantages of information technology are way too obvious and countless. In contrast, many people claim that the outbreak of modern appliances can promote sedentary lifestyles. For instance, AI-based robots can make us physically lazy because they perform all tasks on our behalf. Additionally, the opponents also believe that the dark sides of webs have ruined many lives. However, those negative cases are limited in number and mostly happen with some people who have little self-control. In conclusion, it is undeniable that facilities offered by information technology are innumerable in different parts of life. I personally believe that the positive effects of this industry have outweighed and outnumbered its negative impacts.