Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

On these days, it is becoming commonly for people to reveal private data in digital society. While this way may facilitate a better user experience, I believe that the trend is negative as people will tend to be susceptible to criminal activities. On the one hand, online shoppers easily synchronize their personal information online. Through associating personal details with particular accounts, consumers can make more convenient online purchases. This is clearly exemplification when people shop on e-commerce platforms such as Amazon or Taobao. Besides, the data can be recalled by the user every time even if they forget it. For instance, if a person forget her password or other key information, she can recollect or reset online in a secure manner. In addition, when people have numerous passwords and when they change these periodically, this storage of data would be very beneficial. On the other hand, posting personal data on the Internet makes users potentially vulnerable to cyber- crimmes crime. The private information shared cyberspace including one’s name, address, phone number or even account banking can be exploited for illict purposes such as financial faud, advertisement. Today, there are many professional hackers who break into a person’s or organization’s secure spaces online and can do fraudulent activities such as transferring money to another acoount. This led to a large number of people losing an amount of money to a sophisticated online hacking scheme. In conclusion, despite some relatively minimal conveniences, enrolling personal details online is a negative development considering the risk of online fraud. In my opinion, its drawbacks should not be neglected as it can result catastrophes and the governments need to establish additional privacy regulations so as to mitigate security risks and better secure personal identity information.