The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities. What problems does overpopulation in cities cause? How can these problems be solved?

Overcrowding, a consequence of increased migration to urban areas, is a common problem in modern cities. This phenomenon has caused these places to struggle with traffic congestion and an increased cost of living. However, governments can tackle these issues by promoting the public transportation system and controlling the housing market. One of the first problems that overcrowded cities encounter is traffic jams as insufficient public transportation enforce people to use their own vehicles. For example, in my hometown Toronto, after the surge in the number of residents in 2009, the number of people who use their own car and the amount of time they spend for daily commuting have risen dramatically because the subways did not enhance their capacity in the same time. This example illustrates how overpopulation can disturb the commute system in a major city. Another issue that impacts the residents of crowded cities is the high cost of living, particularly for housing. For instance, the average monthly rent of an apartment has doubled in recent years, making it difficult for many people to find affordable properties. The increased demand for houses and their insufficient production are considered the main reasons for this phenomenon. Governments, however, can solve these problems by controlling the housing market and promoting public transportation. The Authorities in these areas should encourage building companies to expand their activity and provide sufficient residential apartments, thus preventing the prices from going high. Moreover, they should renovate the public transportation system to respond to necessary commutes. These measures can mitigate the problems caused by overcrowding. In conclusion, increased migration and overpopulation can increase the cost of living and traffic problems in cities; While governments can mitigate these by expanding public transportation and building enough houses for their citizens.