Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, historical and ancient buildings are still considered to play an essential part in human life. However, some people believe that some old buildings should be demolished and replaced by modern constructions. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement. First of all, advocates who support this declaration may cite the risk of collapsing as the obvious reason. However, this thought is flawed. Although the building materials of those ancient buildings are old, they have been definitely guaranteed for their safety by the city's committee before allowing people to enter it. Additionally, there must have been several restorations before the buildings were able to open for citizens. Take ‘One pillar pagoda’ in Hanoi as a prime example. This tourist attraction has been constructed for nearly one thousand years and still existed up to now without any accidents reported. Furthermore, some antiquated buildings contain an enormous historical value that distinguishes Viet Nam from other Asia countries. Therefore, preserving deep-rooted buildings means preserving Vietnamese’s traditional culture, which is a fundamental factor that forms a distinctive country. For instance, Van Mieu, which is also known as the first university of Viet Nam, represents the fondness of learning of Vietnamese people, this building is the pride of Vietnamese education. In addition, ancient constructions can also remind the descendants of their ancestor’s achievements, which is a valuable tradition of VietNam. To conclude, old buildings can’t be replaced by modern skyscrapers because behind their obsolete appearances, there are a plethora of stories of our ancestors.