In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children's education has always been a hot topic of debate. In some cultures, children are often told that anything they want will come true on the condition that they try hard enough. However, this message receives a lot of conflicting opinions. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of telling the children this message. On the one hand, advocates who support the first view may cite the encouragement that makes children work hard as the main point. Specifically, by telling them this message, we can motivate them to study harder and achieve their goals in glory because if they really want something, they will work day and night to get it. Apart from motivating them, this message can form hard-working habits - which is undoubtedly necessary when they graduated from universities and sought for occupations. A lot of billionaires have sent this message to their son, for instance, Jack Ma’s son, who is only 10 years old and after receiving this message from his dad that he will be qualified to inherit Alibaba in the future if he tried hard, he works day and night with a desire to come into his father’s fortune. On the other hand, this message still illustrates some drawbacks. The biggest of all is it will form the thought to children that “they can achieve everything just by working hard”, even some wildest dreams like becoming a world’s dominator or conquering another universe. In other words, some children will have impractical thoughts, try hard, and achieve nothing. Seriously, it can turn a child into a more negative version, and as a result, committing a crime can happen. For example, if a child wants to be a world dominator, he / she will try to be a boss among his / her friends and bullying is likely to happen frequently as he / she wants to show off their power by using his / her fist. In conclusion, although the aforementioned message can benefit the children by encouraging them to try hard to achieve their destinations, if it has not been explained clearly, it can reverse the benefits into the drawbacks.