In the future, nobody will buy printed newaspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As the world we are living in witnessed an enormous rise in technology. This increase is accompanied by the changes in the habits of the population. Some have argued that apply in the future, newspapers and books will no longer be printed due to the fact that more and more people are able to read everything they want online without paying. Personally, I agree with this statement. Firstly, it can be clearly seen that reading online is far more flexible and compact than it could be when doing the same with physical books. Nowadays, wireless internet is provided everywhere as well as in public places like cafes, libraries, all you need is a phone, tablet or laptop with an internet connection function and you are able to read online. According to the survey in North America by Harvard University, only 10% of the citizens preferred to read a book to reading an online document while the rest considered that reading online is more convenient. Secondly, some online reading apps such as 4English provide you with some modern functions that allow you to read more effectively. I could mention one of those is the ‘Defining tool’ - which permits you to translate or define some nebulous words or phrases in the reading text. Furthermore, the apps could provide you with the information in need just by typing the keywords in the search bar and clicking, your necessary information will appear immediately whereas you couldn’t do with the paper text. In conclusion, in the future, paper books or newspapers will be obsolete and replaced by e-books and news online as apply technology increases.