You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It has been widely acknowledged that traffic congestion has always been a perennial problem. Some argued that the only option to minimize the number of vehicles in the cities is to cut down on the need for people to commute from homes to their jobs, education or shopping. Personally, I completely disagree with this notion. First of all, working from home may sound like a good idea, however, there are some certain occupations that cannot be worked in a family place, namely doctors, engineers, or some public services that require performance at their workplace to serve public needs. Moreover, if online purchases become all the rage, some traditional shops or stores that only provide direct sales will go bankrupt. Additionally, online studying is seen to be less effective than it does in the classroom. Specifically, studying online means students have to work at home, which is considered to be undisciplined and too convenient than it should be. Furthermore, keeping people inside their houses to reduce the traffic may sound effective, but it doesn’t. This can directly form sedentary lifestyles, which then led to a significant increase in health and mental crises among the citizens. For instance, a study at Stanford University illustrates that adolescent teenagers who are addicted to video games are more likely to be overweight and less likely to go out and make friends. Consequently, more and more teenagers in America tend to suffer from depression and illnesses. In conclusion, I considered that keeping people at home is not a feasible solution. Instead, we can enhance public transports like buses or subways and encourage people to use this kind of transportation in lieu of private vehicles.