The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing

Inventions in science and technology have influenced our lifestyles to great extent resulting even in the way we shop. Today, the majority of the population across the world prefer online shopping over shopping from shops. Although, in small towns, people still prefer offline shopping and this number is decreasing gradually. As, per a survey conducted by Times magazine it was estimated that the number of customers doing online shopping has double folded in last two years. This poses a serious threat to the local outlets in small localities to a great extent. It is widely believed that these small shops will eventually close. I accord the said statement and will be discussing it in detail in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the first supporting reason to support my point of view is that in today's busy world everyone wants to get all the things of his choice in one place and that too at affordable prices. The items in malls are too expensive. As a result, online shopping came into the picture. Needless to say, it not only provides a wide range of products but, it also provides us flexible return and refund policy. For instance, websites like Amazon and Flipcart provide anything from clothes, watches, TV's, AC's and so on and that too with a 30-day return policy which is a win-win situation for the buyer. The other supporting reason to support my viewpoint is that these websites also have tie-up with different banks and offer good discounts with a wide range of credit cards and banks. Whereas, it is impossible in offline shopping as they have only limited payment options. In addition to this, some of the shops also deny the returns as it is against their policy. The biggest example of this is the small businessmen in local localities. Overall, we can accumulate the fact that it is sad but true that an online website is more beneficial to the buyer and the number of its users is expected to rise in future resulting in the closure of all shops in towns and cities.