In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many persons tend to do their shopping in the market instead of small local shops; as a result many of them have closed. Although I think that this tendency has some obvious advantages, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of this trend can outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, there are some reasons that are why the majority of customers prefer to shop from the market and large centres. Firstly, those types of stores ensure a variety of choices to costumers, then the probability to find the adequate articles for them is higher than small stores. Secondly, customers benefit from a large choice of facilities in malls and then they can do more activities than shopping. For example, some families prefer to shop from large centres in order to paste an enjoyable time with their loved ones such as taking lunch or coffee in restaurants at centres. On the other hand, there are several obvious negative consequences of this tendency that cannot be ignored. First of all, this development will increase the level of unemployment in society because those sellers who work in small local stores will become unemployed if their shops have been closed. In addition, this trend will discourage local manufacturing and favour the import of international brands, as a result, the local economy will be affected negatively and will show a decline in terms of production. Finally, this tendency encourages people to spend more of their money on articles do not need and then waste their money which should be invested in meaningful things. In conclusion, despite the big market and large centres can provide diverse benefits to customers, I believe that it is not a positive development and the drawbacks that bring exceed their benefits.