Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries, shops and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Opinions are divided on whether phones should be strictly prohibited in public spaces such as libraries, shops or public transport. I believe that such a ban is unnecessary and is problematic and that there are conferred benefits from allowing people to use their phones in these settings. Granted, one might argue that phones should not be allowed in public areas because the use of this device could annoy other people. A good example is that the sound of someone talking on the phone or their notifications could distract people who are trying to study in a library. However, this problem can be resolved without prohibiting the use of phones completely in public spaces. A straightforward measure is to ask people to switch off the ringtones, turn on the vibration mode and answer their phone call elsewhere to avoid annoying other people. Furthermore, it would also be difficult to enforce a ban on phones in public places, as it would require an unimaginable amount of manpower to make it work: it is unthinkable to have a police officer on each bus journey to enforce the said law. In my opinion, allowing people to use phones in public is beneficial in many ways. For example, those reading a book in a library and encountering a theory that they are unsure of can use their phone to do a search on the Internet to find related material to confirm or invalidate it; those doing the shopping can make a payment easily by using certain digital wallets; and those using phones on a bus can make better use of their travel time by reading something on their phone or watching movies on movie streaming services like Netflix. Perhaps the most cited reason for using phones in public is that phone users can quickly contact their friends or family or the police in emergency cases. In conclusion, banning phones in public areas is neither necessary nor plausible. Instead, people should pay attention to their use so that they can benefit from it without disturbing others.