It is important for all the cities and towns to have large outdoor public spaces, such as parks or squares. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many an environmentalist is of the view that having giant open public arenas such as gardens or parks have become mandatory for every single metropolitan city or developed area. This essay totally agrees with this statement as these free locations not only will act as a stress -buster for working people but also will render children with play-area and elderly with gossip space. To commence with, public gardens have become a basic necessity to cut down the stress of the hectic life of adults. To elaborate, all the adults are working in enclosed spaces in their whole day- be it offices, homes, which at times become the reason for the additional stress. In fact, the archaeologists in Rome, when tried to figure out the reason for the punishment of dark jails having no source of light found that such spaces add stress and depression to culprits,making their life hell to live. The availability of outer areas for the public nearby their homes gives adults a chance of a morning and evening walk,thereby packing them up to tackle the burden of the next day. Not far behind are the young children and elderly who are going to be benefitted from the erection of gardens. Owing to the development of posch areas and multi-storey buildings, children are left with no choice other than playing in the streets where vehicles can come and go at any time. Not only this people in sunset years are also feeling a sense of alienation in the well-developed colonies as they did not have any place to chat with their agemates and can enjoy their time. For instance,the majority of elders are not happy, residing with their working offspring in flats in Chandigarh, the capital of Punjab,in India. However,the presence of a public park facilitated with swings and seating arrangements can solve the problem to quite an extent. Notwithstanding this,there is a section of society that believes that instead of erecting open areas and decorating them with beautiful plants and shrubs,the council should develop skyscrapers in that area in order to meet the ever-rising demand of overpopulation. Although it is not entirely untrue, this land congestion would ultimately increase the stress level, therefore will reduce the quality of living for which megacities are known. For example, the living standard of Delhi, a city of India, declined due to the construction of giant buildings. In conclusion,open spaces in metropolitan cities help adults to live a stress -free life, provide children with a good space to play and give chance to old people to mingle with their friends to avoid boredom.