a hundred years ago, many people thought that the human race was improving in very area of life. Nowadays people are less certain about this. In what areas has the human race made important process? in what areas do we still need to make progress?

With the development of science and technology, the human race has made significant progress in every aspect of life. However, there are still things that need to be improved such as poverty issues, and modern pressures. It is well acknowledged that we are benefiting from modern life in areas like medicine and information technology. On the one hand, life expectancy has been extended due to advanced medical technology. For example, nowadays modern treatment has allowed patients with fatal diseases to live longer and with better life quality than in past days. In addition, even terminal diseases like lung cancer, leukaemia are not incurable anymore. On the other hand, contemporary information technology has made distance communication and interaction possible, no one could imagine in a hundred years go. Nowadays everyone could work or meet with other people through the bridge of the internet; a variety of interactive platforms like Zoom, Facetime improved our lives in a positive way. Although the majority of changes in modern society are beneficial, there are still some problems that need to be solved. The progress of productivity has increased the efficiency of wealth accumulation, but meanwhile the gap between rich and poor are growing. The statistic indicates that one per cent of the population owns 99 per cent of the fortune within the united states. A small portion of people controls such an amount of wealth, so It is necessary to take action to eliminate this gap. Another issue worth paying attention to is the stress problem. Now we are in a fast-paced society with pressures from everywhere. For example, the development of urbanization raised the price of housing and brought more competition in jobs to people living in cities. They may suffer from different kinds of stress, which may lead to a rise in crime and suicide rates. In conclusion, humans race have achieved great progress in many areas, but sometimes the success comes with side effects, we all should take action to address these pains so we could live in a better world.