As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have for the environment? What measures could be taken?

Prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, there was an increasing demand for flights in most parts of the world. This was damaging to the environment, but it is possible to mitigate it in some way. This essay will discuss those ideas. To begin with, the primary problem with an increased number of flights is that these produce plenty of emissions, which are damaging to the environment. Whilst air travel is responsible for just 2% of global CO2 emissions and 12% of CO2 from transportation, this figure was rising and may continue to rise after the pandemic. It has been well established that such emissions have an array of negative effects, the most serious of which is climate change. Although there are many industries that need to take action in order to have any real impact on this, aviation is certainly one that is in many cases non-essential. The pandemic has severely reduced the number of flights, but this is beginning to rise again and one day will probably return to pre-pandemic levels, so it is worth investigating ways of reducing the damage done when the sky is again filled with aeroplanes. There are various options, with the ideal one being the use of greener technologies, but this is something that may not occur for many years yet, so perhaps a better way is to explore carbon credits and similar economic incentives. Basically, these work by having people pay to offset their personal carbon emissions so that the damage done by taking a flight is somewhat mitigated. Though not a perfect solution, it is one of only a few that are realistic. In conclusion, the aviation industry is highly damaging to the environment but there are some steps that could be taken to reduce its damage, including the introduction of a carbon credit system.