In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

These days, choosing accomodation has always been a tricky question for many people around the world. In some countries, it seems very crucial for people to possess a home rather than hire an apartment. In my opinion, there may be several reasons behind this trend and whether this is a positive or negative situation depends on many different factors. There is a sense of security from having your own house. First of all, you don’t have to worry about the usual monthly payment for renting. Because of this, you can spend your money on various other things in your daily life such as clothes, food, etc. Secondly, you are free from any restrictions because this is your own property. For instance, You can adjust the interior, modify your house, have pets – which is usually banned in renting apartments, or do anything of your own accord. Hence, you can truly feel comfortable and secure in your living place. On the other hand, the situation can change due to one’s circumstance. To fully earn the mentioned privilege of having your own house, one has to have the money for it and other expenses that come along. Many people who buy houses that they can barely afford can run into several financial problems. Instead of paying rent, these people will have to pay for interest fee from the money they borrowed to buy a house. Usually, these loans are from bank, and these cound hardly be paid in a short period of time. Moreover, they have to pay for other living expenses such as taxes, water and electricity bill, etc. In conclusion, owning your own house can be a great move for those who have the finance to support themselves, but it can backfire if you do not have a suitable circumstance.