Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this era of technological advancement, letter writing is slowly fading away and people ascertain that communicating through letters is not required. In my opinion, I totally agree with this viewpoint as modern forms of communication are more convenient and efficient. First of all, letter writing is a tedious task. When one puts pen to paper, he or she need to follow a series of procedures which is time consuming. To give an example, if a person wants to contact another, they have to travel to the post office, buy a stamp, paste it and make sure that the sender's details are written precisely. In addition to this, they must place the paper document in the correct coloured box. Despite this, sometimes the document does not reach the receiver. On the contrary, the modern devices are more easy as we just need to draft a mail and hit the send button, which saves a lot time. In short, communicating with paper is now become inefficient. Second of all, letters are not pocket friendly. This means that for every paper to be posted, one has to make payment for multiple reasons such as travelling to the post office, an envelope, a stamp and also letter transportation money. On the other hand, an individual only has to invest in an electronic device once and communicate for free. The best examples are Facebook, Whatsapp, Google mails and Skype. Moreover, a person can contact another person any number of times without being charged because of internet facilities. All in all, an overseas letter can cost you loads whereas a Skype call will only cost you a minimum internet fee that is next to negligible. To conclude, even though communicating with pen and paper is a long lost art, I believe that it is not essential anymore because of the modern developments of electronic devices that has made it easy for us to contact another. Also, we can still continue this art of writing through laptops and mobile phones.