Every year, several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Each year, several languages are in danger of extinction. Some individuals argue that life would be simpler if the number of languages decreased. I completely disagree with this point of view but there are also several issues like the convenience for people from different countries or regions to communicate with each other using the same language. On the positive side, different languages present their own history and culture. For instance, the Chinese language is similar to the one used in the old times. Once that language dies out, people who speak another language, such as English and French, would not know what Chinese festivals holidays celebrate for, as well as the meaning of all architectures in China. Besides, languages are not only one of the crucial ways to learn culture and history, but also be used to write many kinds of local literature, songs, and poems. If the disappearance of languages is considered normal, our younger generation would not respect and preserve their own national characters. On the other hand, there are thousands of different languages in the world nowadays, using the same language, people would find it easier to travel all around the world to socialize and interact with each other on a daily basis. Furthermore, this trend cuts down discrimination among people of different social status. For instance, in some countries where people are able to speak English as native speakers are seen as high-status individuals compared with others. In conclusion, while the dying out of languages has several negative impacts, I do believe in its benefits in our lives. Hence, effective actions should be taken to protect languages as well as pass them on to the next generation.