Scientist agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people get hold of the idea that by raising awareness about fast food side-effects in public media, their overconsumption would decrease in society. Others, however, believe that people already have enough knowledge about junk meal influences on their bodies, but alternative types of food are unaffordable for them. In my opinion, the second argument is correct. Education can reduce junk food consumption, as some people may be unaware of their impacts on the body. For instance, in my hometown, Toronto, just a few percent of customers know about the amount of sugar in Tim Hortons' donuts which is a threat for diabetic patients. As a result, giving sufficient information about the ingredients of these products on national television may help some avoid eating them. Despite all the adverts about these meals, there are still quite a bunch of customers who prefer to buy them. I believe people buy fast food not because they do not have enough knowledge but because they cannot afford to purchase other types. For example, nowadays, almost everyone knows that McDonald's Hamburgers contain excessive fat, but their prices are significantly lower than salmon sandwiches. Moreover, preparing homemade meals is time-consuming, and many employees prefer to buy fast food instead of spending time cooking, forcing people to choose unhealthy food over homemade cooked ones. In conclusion, public training about junk food health issues may be effective to some extent. But, we cannot expect a significant change in dietary habits unless healthy food gets more affordable and people find more free time to cook.