In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is a widespread theory that teenagers should take a gap year after finishing school and before their university lives. They can spend it travelling or working. In this essay, I will examine the question from both points of view. On the one hand, it is commonly believed that a free year before university studies can help adolescents to be better prepared for their future education. The main reason for it is that they can spend it for recreation in order to build up strength for the high education. Moreover, it can be considered as a type of isolation from their relatives and close friends because during this period they can rely only on themselves. One good example is numerous young people from the United States who decided to visit Europe, in order to break a link with their parents for a short period of time and estimate who they are. On the other hand, others assume that this gap year can change adolescents’ attitude to high education dramatically and encourage them to continue a work-life rather than a university study. There are no reasons for them to spend young years becoming educated if their ambitions lie in the plane of work. According to a great number of social examinations related to teenagers involved in family businesses from their 18 ages, the majority of them do not consider continuing education. In conclusion, there is a conventional approach to provide young people with the possibility to take a gap year after school. In most cases, it can bring benefits for the future life, while in some cases it can be disruptive for the process of further education.