Every year, several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Nowadays, lots of languages are becoming popular to people such as English, French and more. But this makes some languages less used by the public and then disappear. Several people believe that life would be easier because there are fewer languages. I partly agree with this point of view. However, learning new languages can have some good impacts as well. There are various reasons that some languages are disappearing. First of all, having fewer languages means that people will communicate with each other easier without any language barrier. For example, nowadays if a person wants to go to a foreign place, they should learn English to communicate with the natives there. Moreover they can stay there if they want to, which means that they have to learn English to have an easier conversation with the natives. If he or she does not learn that new language, it would be more difficult to speak with their dialect. However, fewer languages can cause cultural loss. If people use too many international languages such as English or French, that language will become the first language, leading to their mother tongue being less used and then disappearing day by day. This can happen easier when they are not in their native countries. If a person lives in a foreign place, which means he or she will use another language to communicate, making his or her mother tongue not useful because no one understands that. As a result, their dialect will disappear quickly and they will have forgotten it after several years of using another language. In conclusion, fewer languages means that communication will be a lot easier, and thus beneficial to the global community but it comes with its consequences. People should learn a new language without necessarily leaving their own dialect.